Editorial Comment

Elizabeth O. Waagen, Associate Editor

AAVSO Headquarters, 25 Birch Street, Cambridge, MA 02138

When plans for the 86th Spring Meeting were made, it was intended that the proceedings of the meeting would be published in the Astronomical Society of the Pacific Conference Proceedings (ASPCP) series, co-edited by AAVSO Director Dr. Janet A. Mattei and Dr. Michel Grenon.

Preparation of the material proceded in anticipation of this plan of publication, including editing by Janet Mattei and Michel Grenon, layout in LATEX, and so on, in ASPCP format. Due to time constraints, primarily on Janet Mattei, completion of the editing was delayed time and again. In the early 2000s, all authors who could be reached were contacted to offer the opportunity to update their contributions and to decide—because the passage of time might have dated the material beyond usefullness—whether or not they would keep their contributions in the volume.

The untimely death of Janet Mattei in March 2004 caused another great pause in the publication of the proceedings. It was decided that it was no longer practical to publish the proceedings as part of the ASP conference series. Ultimately, AAVSO Director Dr. Arne A. Henden decided the proceedings should be published in the *Journal of the AAVSO*, not as an extra, special issue, but as a regular issue devoted mainly to the proceedings of the Sion meeting. Most of those materials that would have normally appeared in *JAAVSO* 35, number 1, were shifted to Volume 34, number 2, and Volume 35, number 2. A new layout was made, this time in *JAAVSO* format. The results are presented here.

The papers are arranged according to their original order of presentation as much as can be determined. Many of the titles appear as abstracts only—either because the author requested it, or because we were otherwise unable to obtain a copy of the manuscript. Some titles may have been inadvertently omitted. If so, authors are requested to submit their paper or abstract for publication in a later issue of this journal.

In addition to Janet Mattei, the AAVSO Headquarters staff who have worked with these proceedings are Kerriann H. Malatesta, Dr. Michael Saladyga, Dr. Matthew Templeton, Elizabeth O. Waagen, Grant Foster, and Lynn Anderson.