Minutes of the 93rd Annual Meeting of the AAVSO, Held October 29–30, 2004, Waltham, MA.

David B. Williams

For AAVSO Secretary Gary Walker, 179 South Main Street, Sherborn, MA 01770

Friday, October 29, was devoted to the memorial events honoring Janet Mattei.

The membership meeting was called to order at 5:35 p.m. on Saturday, October 30, by President Bill Dillon. President Bill informed the members that the Council had reviewed applicants for the director's position and would be making an offer to the best-rated candidate. He recognized and thanked the Search Committee for its work over the past several months: Chairman Kevin Marvel (First Vice President) and committee members Jim Bedient, Tom Williams, Lee Anne Willson, and Gary Walker.

Second Vice President David Williams summarized the minutes of the 93rd Spring Meeting, part of a joint "AstroCon 2004" conference with the Astronomical League, Association of Lunar and Planetary Observers, and Astronomical Society of the Pacific in Berkeley, California, July 20–24, 2004.

Treasurer Lou Cohen presented his report for the fiscal year 2003–2004. He noted that dues income and investment and grant income were up slightly, while operating income was reduced because a full annual membership meeting was not held. Expenses were significantly lower this year compared to the previous year, resulting in a reduced deficit of \$126,250. Annual deficits are funded by withdrawals from the endowment funds. To maintain the endowments, the Council has set a goal of limiting such withdrawals to no more than 4 percent per year. Lou reported that the needed withdrawals were exactly four percent for 2003–2004. Finances for 2004–2005 will be more challenging, because the NASA grant for data validation will be finished and the new director's moving expenses and compensation will be added.

The following committee reports were then presented:

er, Chair
Baldwin, Chair
D. Waagen for Charles Scovil
O. Waagen
Baldwin, Chair
ehrer, Chair
O. Waagen for Robert Evans
O. Waagen for Charles Scovil

Interim Director Elizabeth Waagen reported that Photoelectric Photometry Committee Chairman J. Phillip Manker has resigned and a new chairman was being sought.

Elizabeth announced that the Council approved the applications of 40 new members received since April; 33 new members are from the United States, 7 from other countries. She also reported that the AAVSO has lost four longtime members

or friends during the past year: Katherine Hazen, Miriam Houston, Janet Mattei, and Ed Reed.

Elizabeth then presented her report as Interim Director for 2003–2004. Headquarters has continued to function normally since the tragic loss of our longtime director Janet Mattei. The staff has completed the long and demanding data validation project on time and on budget. There are now some 9.5 million variable star observations available via the AAVSO web site.

Among other highlights, she reported that the AAVSO has added a more powerful server to support the web site. There were 1.5 million page downloads from the site in 2003–2004. Observers contributed 545,826 observations to the AAVSO International Database. The special chart team and comparison star database team have been very active and prolific. The AAVSO received 1,829 data requests, compared to 536 in the previous year. This large increase reflects a change in the counting method but also a real increase in requests.

The full report will appear in the *Journal of the AAVSO*. The assembled membership rose to applaud Elizabeth upon her 25th anniversary as an AAVSO staff member.

President Bill announced the results of the Council elections. Gary W. Billings, Lewis M. Cook, Jaime R. Garcia, and Karen J. Meech were each re-elected to second terms. The Council re-elected officers President William G. Dillon, First Vice President Kevin B. Marvel, Second Vice President David B. Williams, Treasurer Louis Cohen, and Clerk Michael Mattei. Secretary Martha L. Hazen has retired, and the Council elected Past President Gary Walker as the new secretary.

The AAVSO sponsors two awards for optical observations of gamma-ray burst afterglows, a discovery award and an observation award. Elizabeth Waagen announced that Berto Monard of South Africa had qualified for the discovery award, and a suitable plaque would be sent to him.

Staff service awards were also announced, with applause: Katherine Davis and Gloria Ortiz-Cruz for five years of service; Gamze Menali, and Aaron Price for five years, achieved last year; Sara Beck for 14 years (her five and 10 year recognitions were missed); and Michael Saladyga, for 20 years of service.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:23 p.m.

Papers presented at the Janet A. Mattei Symposium on Friday, October 29, 2004:

Lee Anne Willson	Mira Variables 1973–2003: From Puzzle to Key
Margarita Karovska Janet Mattei	Jet Activity in CH Cyg
John R. Percy Jaime L. Coffey	Watching RVT/SRd Variables Evolve
Mario Motta	New Robotic 32-inch Relay Telescope and New 20-foot Dome

Seiichi Sakuma	Dr. Mattei in Japan
Dorrit Hoffleit	Two Turkish Lady Astronomers
Paula Szkody	20 Years of Work with Janet Mattei on Cataclysmic Variables
William Liller	Novae 13 Days After Peak Brightness
Matthew Templeton Aaron Price	Campaign '04: The AAVSO's Observing Campaigns on BZ UMa, Var Her 04, and IL Aqr
Maria Motta	"Partnership in Astronomy": An Early AAVSO Outreach to Grade School Children
Jaime Garcia	Variable Stars for Scientific Initiation: An Educational Experience
Michael Saladyga	The AAVSO Archive Project
Mary Kadooka James Bedient Alyce Ikeoka Karen Meech	Janet A. Mattei's Hawaiian Ohana
Poster presentation:	

M. Helvaci, et al.	Amateur and Professional Researches at the Ankara
	University Observatory

New Members Accepted at the Annual Meeting, October 30, 2004

	Armstrong, Michael, AZ	Heggie, Richard, Australia
	Attanasio, Antonio, Italy	Holland, Peter M., CA
	Baker, Kenneth, Jr., NC	Howard, Conrad, FL
	Carter, Lon, CA	Ivey, William Max, AZ
	Cataline, Lee, FL	Lafrana, Arthur, PA
	Charboneau, Jim and Joyce, AZ	McCoy, Blaine, WA
	Chou, Yi, China	Melvin, Joseph R., MI
	Cornect, Robert, LA	Mortfield, Paul, Canada
	Costa, Joseph, MD	Nicholls, David C., Australia
	Craig, Jeffrey B., MA	Noren, Dan, MA
	Crane, Philippe, VT	Nugent, Stephen, Australia
	Dillinger, Donald, WA	Pastore, Peter, NY
	Dockweiler, Thor, CA	Peterson, David, NM
S	Douglass, Donald B., PA	Potter, Richard Brian, MI
	Ferguson, Bradford B., OK	Rauscher, Walter, PA

S = sustaining membership

continued on next page

220

New Members, cont.	
Sherman, Matthew, IL	Unaldi, Lale Emine, Turkey
Smith, Dewey, TX	Varney, Doug, MD
Steck, Timothy, IL	Watson, Christopher, CA
Thibodeau, Jeff, OK	West, Richard A., AZ
Toomey, William P., MA	Zook, Merlin Wayne, PA

Deceased Members, Observers, and Colleagues

Hazen, Katherine, MA	Houston, Miriam, CT
Mattei, Janet Akyüz, MA	Reed, Ed, TX,

AAVSO Gamma-Ray Burst Award (presented at the 93rd Annual Meeting in Waltham, MA, October 30, 2004)

Libert A. G. Monard, Tiegerpoort, South Africa, for the discovery of the Gamma-Ray burst optical afterglow of GRB 030725 on July 25.79, 2003 UT. The award was announced at the 93rd Annual Meeting.

AAVSO Solar Observer Awards (presented at the 93rd Annual Meeting in Waltham, MA, October 30, 2004)

Sunspot Observers (1,500 or more observations)

Robert Branch	California	Thomas Cragg	Australia
Brenda Branchett	Florida	Javier Jarboles Maranon	Spain
German Morales Chavez	Bolivia		

Sudden Ionospheric Disturbance Observers (40 or more months of reports)

Guglielmo DiFillipo	Italy	Walter Moos	Switzerland
James Ellerbe	Spain	Alex Panzer	Ohio
Michael Hill	Massachusetts	Dominic Toldo	South Africa
Michael King	England	Jerry Winkler	Texas
Danie Overbeek			
(awarded posthumously)	South Africa		