AAVSO: American Association of Variable Star Observers

Undergraduate Observations of Separation and Position Angle of Double Stars WDS J05460+2119AB (ARY 6AD and ARY 6 AE) at Manzanita Observatory (Abstract)

Volume 42 number 2 (2014)

Michael J. Hoffert
Concordia University, Irvine, CA; mike.hoffert@cui.edu
Eric Weise
San Diego State University, San Diego, CA; ericdweise@gmail.com
Jenna Clow
Concordia University, Irvine, CA; jenna.clow@eagles.cui.edu
Jacquelyn Hirzel
Concordia University, Irvine, CA; jacquelyn.hirzel@eagles.cui.edu
Brett Leeder
Concordia University, Irvine, CA; brett.leeder@eagles.cui.edu
Scott Mulyneux
Concordia University, Irvine, CA; scott.molyneux@eagles.cui.edu
Nicholas Scutti
Concordia University, Irvine, CA; nicholas.scutti@eagles.cui.edu
Sarah Spartalis
Concordia University, Irvine, CA; sarah.spartalis@eagles.cui.edu
Corey Takuhara
Concordia University, Irvine, CA; corey.takuhara@eagles.cui.edu

Abstract

(Abstract only) Six beginning astronomy students, part of an undergraduate stellar astronomy course, one advanced undergraduate student assistant, and a professor measured the position angles and separations of Washington Double Stars (WDS) J05460+2119 (= WDS J05460+2119AB; also known as ARY 6 AD and ARY 6 AE). The measurements were made at the Manzanita Observatory (116º 20' 42" W, 32º 44' 5" N) of the Tierra Astronomical Institute on 10 Blackwood Road in Boulevard, California (www.youtube.com/watch?v=BHVdeMGBGDU), at an elevation of 4,500 ft. A Celestron 11-inch HD Edge telescope was used to measure the position angles and separations of ARY 6 AD and ARY 6 AE. The averages of our measurements are as follows: separation AD: trial 1 124.1 arcseconds and trial 2 124.5 arcseconds; separation AE: trial 1 73.3 arcseconds and trial 2 73.8 arcseconds. The averages of positon angle for AD: trial 1 159.9 degrees and trial 2 161.3 degrees, for AE: trial 1 232.6 degrees and trial 2 233.7 degrees.